For a better experience please change your browser to CHROME, FIREFOX, OPERA or Internet Explorer.

Vaughn Gittin Jr. Grabs The Gauntlet with a Win

By Ted Rossino Jr.

Photos by Ted Rossino Jr.

Belmar, New Jersey

Vaughn Gitten Jr drove his Monster Energy Drink Ford Mustang to his first win for the 2012 season. He defeated 2011 Formula drift champion Daijiro Yoshihara in the final four, after advancing past what appeared a spent Chris Forsberg. Forsberg’s NOS Energy Drink Nissan 370Z defeated 2012 points leader Justin Pawlak in the final eight after contact with Pawlak and repairing a broken tie rod, during a “One More Time” after the judges could not agree on a winner. Gitten Jr. overpowered Forsburg’s Nissan and went on to dominate Daijiro Yoshihara during the final four.

Rookie sensation Daigo Saito battled all day to lose a fierce battle with Daijiro Yosihara that also resulted in repeat of the round when the judges could’t determine a winner. This of course didn’t bother the capacity crowd at Wall Stadium, who got there money’s worth, with the fierce competition all day. This was the twelfth time Formula drift has brought it’s series to Belmar oval..

Friday’s number one qualifier Odi Bakchis was eliminated by Daigo Saito during the final 32, first round of eliminations. Tyler McQuarrie escaped injury during the final sixteen when his Mobil One Chevy Camaro SS got his front tire up on the guard rail during contact with Chelsea Denofa. He was defeated by Vaghn Gittin Jr. during the final eight round. Daijiro Yosihara battled past Rhys Millen’s Hyundai Genesis Coupe with chants from the crowd for one more time during the final 32.

Next stop is the “Throwdown” at Evergreen Speedway Monroe, Washington on July 20-21. Tickets are available at – Click NOW. Defending champion is Daijiro Yosihara.

Featured Cars